It is currently November 28th, 2014, 3:11 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
PostPosted: November 29th, 2011, 12:14 pm 

Membership Status: Regular Member
Since December is almost upon us and March 2012 isn't that far away, I thought I had better post some information now about our next PBS Membership hunt. There was an excellent Knowledge Through Experience topic about Hog Hunting back in March of this year, that really generated some excitement.

http://probowsociety.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=61

Ted Kinney and Cory Mattson did a great job. Ft. Stewart Georgia was mentioned in that series as a place to hunt hogs. I am not an expert hog hunter and I don't have a good lease to share, in fact almost all of my hog hunting has been done on public land. That might help explain why I have killed only a handful of hogs over the years, but I have had plenty of chances to kill more hogs, they just seem to win most of the encounters. Hunting hogs without the benefit of corn is a real challenge, especially when the pressure of public land is added. I have hunted Ft. Stewart on and off for about 6 or 7 years now and really enjoy hunting there, especially at the end of winter/early spring for reasons I will list later. If you are seeking an easy hog hunt, this is not for you. However, if you want a relatively cheap bowhunt for hogs in an interesting part of the country at perhaps the most pleasant time of the year, where there are plenty of hogs and a few challenges to overcome, then plan to join me and some other PBSers in late Feburary at Ft. Stewart Georgia.

I am in the process of gathering information, so for now I will provide a link to the Ft Stewart hunting website and a few photos from my last hog hunt (2/11) at Ft Stewart. Here is the link:

http://www.stewart.army.mil/dpw/wildlife/default.htm