It is currently June 22nd, 2017, 3:39 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
 Post subject: Lost Arrows
PostPosted: February 12th, 2015, 1:19 pm 

Hello my name is Ricky Parker and I am a student in an engineering program called Engineering Design and Development. I am attempting to design an arrow that will be less likely to get lost, but I would like to know on average how many arrows do you lose every year while on the hunt?

Profile Send private message  

Post subject: Re: Lost Arrows
PostPosted: February 12th, 2015, 2:24 pm 

Membership Status: Regular Member
Ricky,

There is no general answer for your question as it depends on what sort of game one is after and what sort of terrain you are hunting on.

Truthfully, I do not lose many arrows while hunting game animals. My lost arrows generally come from either small game hunting or actually practicing, i.e. Roving and 3 d shoots.

I lose many arrows a year while practicing and hunting small game. Probably 8-12 per year. You will discover that this group most likely shoots far more arrows than the average weekend warrior. Most of our members are year round archery enthusiast and bow hunters.

I will also search to the ends of the Earth to find a lost arrow, especially if a head other than a target point is on the end.

PostPosted: February 12th, 2015, 6:38 pm 

Appropriate response PJ.

Most hunting shots from this group are going to be very close range... I'd guess in the 10 to 25 yard range. Very few lost arrows.

PostPosted: February 12th, 2015, 8:22 pm 

Welcome to the PBS website Ricky. I see this is your first time posting here. Are you new to the PBS?

Truthfully, I have lost 2 arrows in the past 5 years, and I can tell you where they should be at, but I'll be darned if I could find them (I spent way more time than I probably should have looking for them)